Cynical Synapse

Thu, 21 Jul 2011

Lose-Lose: Hoekstra vs. Stabinaw

Filed under: Congress, Michigan, Politics — cynicalsynapse @ 6:13 am

stabinaw dangerously incompetent

This is not good. Former Rep. Pete Hoekstra (R) will run against Stabinaw (D) in 2012 Senate bid.

There are a myriad of problems with this, starting with Michigan’s primary system. In the primaries, voters must vote either Republican or Democrat. The dilema for me is do I vote against Hoekstra (R) in the Senate race or against Sander Levin (D) in the Representative race. I won’t be able to do both and it’s a real challenge to discern the lesser of all evils in this one.

Hoekstra on healthcare

If you ask me, both Debbie Stabinaw and Sander Levin need to go. Neither is responsive or considerate of their constituency. But, Hoekstra is not an acceptable replacment for either. He’s an opportunist who is, simply, not trustworthy. He was not a suitable US Representative; he was not a good gubernatorial candidate; he’s not an acceptable Senatorial candidate.

Where does that leave me? I can vote for/against Hoekstra in the Republican primary or for/against Sander Levin in the Democratic primary. Either way, I lose. One, or both, are likely to win the their primary.

Previously on Pete Hoekstra:

Previously on Pete Hoekstra:

