Cynical Synapse

Tue, 11 Aug 2009

Was Hillary Sleep-Deprived Again?

Filed under: Behavior, Duh, Government, Paradoxes, Politics, Rants — cynicalsynapse @ 10:57 am

I had serious reservations about candidate Hillary Clinton. She left her name on the Michigan primary ballot, but said Michigan’s vote would “not going to count for anything.” Then she hoped Michigan would make the difference between her and Barack. Talk about two-faced! Add to that her sleep-deprived memory of coming under imagined sniper fire when landing in Bosnia in 1996. Are the duties of First Lady so intensive they cause sleep deprivation?

During the presidential campaign, candidate Clinton trashed Obama’s foreign policy experience. With Hillary’s total lack of foreign policy experience herself, I questioned Obama’s naming Clinton Secretary of State. The woman seems such an opportunist that thrives on a facade of mistrust.

So, the country’s top diplomat acted outright nasty yesterday in the Congo. Hillary snapped at a Congolese student’s question. Either the French-speaking student or the translator erred with the question. Either way, Hillary suffered a meltdown at hearing husband Bill’s name:

You want me to tell you what my husband thinks? My husband is not secretary of state, I am. If you want my opinion, I will tell you my opinion. I am not going to be channeling my husband.

If Secretary Clinton can’t handle the pressure of a student’s question, how could she function in a real international or diplomatic crisis? At best, her reaction was unprofessional and disrespectful. At worst, this incident clearly shows her incompetence and ineptitude. She should do the graceful thing and resign. The US does not need a sleep-deprived Secretary of State who obviously has issues.


