Cynical Synapse

Thu, 18 Jun 2009

Construction Zones Gone Wild

Filed under: Behavior, Driving, Humor, Life, Michigan, Rants — cynicalsynapse @ 10:09 pm

You may know road construction zones are one of my pet peeves. Michigan has two seasons: good snowmobiling and orange barrels, separated by deer hunting in the fall. This is the second summer in a row my 87 mile commute pretty much starts and ends with construction zones.

I can deal with construction zones when they make sense. I don’t quite understand why they often close down a lane a mile or so before the actual work zone, however. I’m also confused by one work zone that shifts 3 lanes to one side or the other for a 3 or 4 mile stretch when the only construction taking place is replacing a bridge over I-96. Then there’s the construction zone that extended for a 3 mile stretch on US-127/I-496, but now the work remaining is the southbound ramp to I-96 east and a bridge over 127/496. The whole stretch is still posted Speed Limit 60, however. Are traffic fines still doubled if the work on that stretch is completed?

My worst nightmare is evil construction barrels come to life. What I’m trying to figure out now is should I sue sculptor Joseph Carnevale for mental anguish or intellectual property theft?

