Cynical Synapse

Sat, 20 Aug 2011

Seriously? Space Aliens Might Kill Humans over Global Warming

Filed under: Deceit, Environment, Global warming, Government, Hypocrits, Politics — cynicalsynapse @ 12:48 pm

'aliens' ponder their risk over so-called climate change

You just can’t make this stuff up! The National Aeronautics and Space Administration, or NASA, released a research report warning aliens may be forced to attack to save themselves. Researchers at Pennsylvania State University collaborated with NASA scientists. It seems these pseudo-scientists believe so-called climate change is more than just a global threat:

A band of moralistic, environmental-loving aliens may attack and destroy humanity (for the greater good of the universe, of course!), unless we can get our carbon emissions under control.

Forgive me, but I don’t recall any proof extraterrestrial life actually exists. While I concede there are several places in the universe where life as we know it could exist, there’s no evidence it actually does. This makes me wonder why a taxpayer funded government scientific organization (NASA) could produce such a fatally flawed, laughable research paper. Was it peer-reviewed? If so, do those peers all take up residence in insane asylums?

Al Gore

Climate change proponents will get a boost from NASA’s science fiction. Global warming fanatics already want to suspend democracy so they can impliment Draconian measures for our own good. Never mind their plans would destroy an already feeble economy.

Many highly respected scientists have refuted claims of man-made climate change. Remember the blizzards in January, 2011? Al Gore said the blizzards proved the effects of climate change. Tell me that’s not quackery. Then there’s the University of East Anglia’s ClimateGate in which hacked emails show manipulated data by the Climate Research Unit.

While scientific research is challenging work, its basic premise is simple. If you start with a flawed hypothesis and prove it with selective data and analysis, your results will be wrong. Just sayin…

Previously on Global Warming:

Update:

22 Aug 2011

On 18 August 2011, the Guardian reported research suggested aliens may destroy humans over global warming. They correctly noted the authors of the report as a NASA-affiliated researcher and colleagues at Penn State. From there, the Drudge Report picked up the story and it went viral. Drudge’s headline: “NASA REPORT: Aliens may destroy humanity to protect other civilizations…” Interestingly, there’s no sign of the headline, or Drudge’s post on it, on their website or even when googling it. Hmmm.

The problem? It’s not a NASA report nor even work funded by NASA. Shawn D. Domagal-Goldman says:

Yes, I work at NASA. It’s also true that I work at NASA Headquarters. But I am not a civil servant… just a lowly postdoc. More importantly, this paper has nothing to do with my work there. I wasn’t funded for it, nor did I spend any of my time at work or any resources provided to me by NASA to participate in this effort. …

But I do admit to making a horrible mistake. It was an honest one, and a naive one… but it was a mistake nonetheless. I should not have listed my affiliation as “NASA Headquarters.” I did so because that is my current academic affiliation. But when I did so I did not realize the full implications that has. I’m deeply sorry for that, but it was a mistake born our of carelessness and inexperience and nothing more. …

For anything I have done to mis-convey that to those covering this story, to the public, or to the fine employees of NASA, I apologize.

No apology for aliens potentially attacking over global warming, which Domagal-Goldman considers a low likelihood, but possible all the same. And never mind he’s, essentially, destroyed a likely employment opportunity. Sheesh.

2 Comments

  1. and how much do we pay these nuts?

    Comment by greg55 — Sat, 20 Aug 2011 @ 1:41 pm

    • More than we probably want to know, especially since I’m sure the PennState collaboration is funded by Federal grants.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by cynicalsynapse — Sat, 20 Aug 2011 @ 5:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Theme: Silver is the New Black. Get a free blog at WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

